Jul 29, 2014
Partly Cloudy

Rockland County Orders Restrictions on Gas Sales

Rockland part of "Major Disaster Declaration" request by Gov. Cuomo.

Rockland County Orders Restrictions on Gas Sales

County Executive C. Scott Vanderhoef is announcing that Rockland County is facing a serious gasoline shortage as a result of the recent closure of the Port of New York from Hurricane Sandy, and that relatively few gas stations in the county are expected to receive fuel deliveries in the near future.  

As result, Vanderhoef, says he is issuing a Local Emergency Order restricting the amount of fuel that an individual can purchase at a gas station.

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that Rockland County has been
added to the Major Disaster declaration. Rockland has been designated
for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance Category A and B, as
well as Direct Federal Assistance (D.F.A.).

“Rockland County has suffered significant damage as a result of
Hurricane Sandy. I’m pleased that as a result of this disaster
declaration, many people  who have suffered damages and losses as a
result of this storm will now be able to apply for and will receive due
consideration for federal assistance,” said Vanderhoef.

Due to the Major Disaster declaration, the federal government can send
aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts due to Hurricane
Sandy beginning on October 27, 2012, and throughout the recovery. This
action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in
Rockland. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home
repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other
programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the
effects of the disaster.
Residents wishing to begin the process of application can call FEMA at
1-800-621-FEMA, or if able, visit  www.disasterassistance.gov  A date and
time of meeting for small businesses will be announced shortly.

Other counties included in the Major Disaster declaration include: New
York, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Bronx, Nassau and Suffolk counties.

Check back with Patch for details on the new restrictions.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!