Jul 26, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

Rockland Youth Bureau Seeks Nonimations

County Youth Bureau seeks nominations for Annual Forum and Awards Ceremony in February.

Rockland Youth Bureau Seeks Nonimations

Rockland County Executive C. Scott Vanderhoef and the Rockland County Youth Bureau Board of Directors are seeking nominations for the 33rd Annual Youth Forum and Awards Dinner. The deadline to submit nominations is February 6.

The criteria for nominees for the various awards for children, adults and businesses are based on a demonstrated commitment to volunteer service in the community.

The Joseph A. Myers Service to Youth Award

Two young people will be selected to receive this award and a $1,000 check for his/her dedicated service.  This award is for volunteer community service, not for scholastic achievement or school related activities, clubs, etc. Non-college bound youth who have volunteered as eligible also. Each nominee must be able to corroborate two years of consistent service with one or more organizations or causes in Rockland County.

The Father F. Peter Malet Award

Nominations are based on exceptional volunteer community service by an adult volunteer. The recipient will be selected based on his/her dedicated work on behalf of the children, youth and families of Rockland.

The Youth Forum Business Award

Nominations for this award are based on a business' commitment to the county's children, youth and families.  Nominees must be a business in Rockland that has supported the efforts of schools, not-for-profits and/or government departments.

The Dennis J. Fleming Award 

One individual will be selected for this award for his/her long-term commitment and advocacy efforts on behalf of children and youth.

For more information or to receive nomination forms, contact Marianne McCarney Haesche, Assistant Director of the Rockland County Youth Bureau at (845) 638-5166.

All awards will be presented at the 33rd Annual Youth Forum and Awards  Dinner on Thursday, May 16th. Contributions from local businesses and individuals fund the awards. 

Don’t miss updates from Patch!