Jul 28, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

Deegan, Williamson Win Seats on Mattituck Park District Board

Race was close for one-year term as commissioner.

Deegan, Williamson Win Seats on Mattituck Park District Board

Mattituck resident Nick Deegan, who lost his bid for a seat in the New York State Assembly to Dan Losquadro earlier this month, narrowly won back his seat on the Mattituck Park District Board of Commissioners and will serve a one-year term, according to park district clerk and election coordinator Lydia Tortora.

Deegan, who had been removed from the board when he failed to take the oath of office in time when he decided to run for the assembly in early September, beat write-in candidate Mike Ryan 164 to 141 votes — an unprecedented race for a last-minute write-in candidate, Tortora said.

“This is the first time in the history of the park district that a write-in garnered that many votes,” said Tortora, adding that she and others working the election were up until about 10:30 p.m. counting votes after polls closed at 8 p.m. Tuesday night. “Nick pulled over 400 voted last election, so this is significant.”

Russ Williamson beat George Lomaga 166 to 143 for a seat to be left vacant by Charles Zaloom, who is not running again for park district commissioner for a three-year term. Incumbant treasurer Shelley Maddaloni ran unopposed for a two-year term and received 236 votes. Incumbent Jerry Goehringer has two years left to serve of his term after his re-election last year.

A total of 347 votes, including absentee ballots, were received this election year.

Since 1941, the Mattituck Park District has maintained and enhanced nine properties in Mattituck — beaches, athletic fields, a boat ramp and nature preserves — a total of 73 acres. The properties are private to residents of the park district, which includes parts of Laurel.

The office is located at Veterans Beach Memorial Park, 11280 Peconic Bay Boulevard, Mattituck. Call 631-298-9103 or go to www.​mattituckparkdistrict.​com

Don’t miss updates from Patch!