21 Aug 2014
76° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by mtlchef
Patch Instagram photo by richardsalon

Yoos, DiBiase Win Setauket Fire District Seats

Voter turnout was average, according to one current commissioner.

Yoos, DiBiase Win Setauket Fire District Seats

The races for two Setauket fire commissioner seats were decided Tuesday night – including one by a margin of 12 votes.

Kevin Yoos beat Bob Hoey for a three-year term, 424 to 191, while Paul DiBiase beat Brendan Brown, 331 to 319, for a five-year term.

Following the announcement of the results, DiBiase said he was happy to win but sad that the opponent he'd beaten is a friend of 20 years.

"I look forward to working on the board and making Setauket one of the finest fire districts and fire departments on the island," DiBiase said.

Yoos echoed his sentiments.

"We have a lot to learn from each other, and we'll work with the community," he said.

Voters cast a total of 690 votes, but 75 were voided in the race between Yoos and Hoey, and 40 votes were voided in the race between Brown and DiBiase. Current commissioner William Pollina said the voided votes were not a factor in the closeness of that race.

Pollina said voter turnout was average for a race with multiple candidates, saying "it's pretty much what we expected."

Share This Article