20 Aug 2014
75° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by your_man_fran

Galasso, Turri, Braddish Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

Annual award recognizes the top player in college lacrosse.

Galasso, Turri, Braddish Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

Three former West Islip High School standouts were recently named to the Tewaaraton Trophy watch list, which recognizes the top player in all divisions of collegiate lacrosse. 

Nicky Galasso (UNC), Justin Turri (Duke) and Ian Braddish (Hofstra) were all part of the preseason award list that included a record-high 64 teams. 

Galasso, the most sought after recruit coming out of high school in 2010 (according to Inside Lacrosse), is now entering his sophomore season at North Carolina after a year in which he was named ACC Freshman of the Year. 

He set the UNC freshman record in points (56), assists (32) and is expected to lead the highly-ranked Tar Heels in 2012.

Braddish, who transferred from UNC to Hofstra, is a junior middie who contributed 16 goals and a team-high 17 assists as a sophomore. He received All-Colonial Athletic Association first team honors a year ago and with a number of players graduating, he'll become the Pride's go-to guy.

Turri, a member of the Blue Devil's National Championship team in 2010, is entering his senior year. Last season he drafted in the first round by the MLL's Charlotte Hounds was and was also named to the ACC All-Academic Team. 

Players will continually be added to the watch list throughout the season. In late April, the list will then be narrowed to 25 players, then again cut down to five finalists in mid-May. The winner will be announced on May 31 in Washington, D.C.

Share This Article