21 Aug 2014
72° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

Comcast Awards Penncrest Senior, 162 Pa. Students Scholarships

Comcast awarded Penncrest Senior Jacki Turet and 162 other Pennsylvania students $1,000 scholarships through its annual Leaders & Achievers program.

Comcast Awards Penncrest Senior, 162 Pa. Students Scholarships

HARRISBURG, PA—The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, awarded 163 Pennsylvania high school seniors $1,000 scholarships through its annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program recently. The program, one of the Comcast Foundation’s signature community investment programs, recognizes students’ leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.

Comcast officials were joined by Pennsylvania Governor Tom Corbett and state legislators in recognizing the students at a special event held on May 1 at the State Museum of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg.

Senior Jacki Turet was one of the recipients.

Comcast also awarded Shealyn Williamson from Allderdice High School in Pittsburgh a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship—instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation.

After a prize drawing, 10 students were also given personal notebook computers to use at college.

“I commend the students honored by Comcast today for their hard work and dedication to academics,” said Governor Corbett. “Not only have they excelled in the classroom, but they have shown a commitment to making their communities a better place to live. Each one of them makes Pennsylvania proud.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time, $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement and its value to the business community.

Each year, Comcast works with high school principals, guidance counselors and school administrators to select the scholarship recipients. Since the program’s inception there have been over 17,000 scholarship winners totaling more than $17.2 million.

“Comcast is proud of its Leaders & Achievers scholarship recipients. They represent some of the best and brightest high school seniors who also demonstrate civic involvement in the communities we serve across the country,” said Charisse Lillie, Vice President, Community Investment, Comcast Corporation and President of the Comcast Foundation. “We are thrilled to support their educational efforts with these scholarships.”

Below is a list of recipients from Delaware County and other nearby counties.

Coatesville – Kiarra Hicks of Coatesville Area Senior High School
Downingtown – Caroline Weyback-Liogier of Bishop Shanahan High School
Phoenixville – Hayley Connors of Phoenixville Area High School
West Chester – Paymaneh Parhami of B. Reed Henderson High School
West Chester – Thomas Phelan of East High School

Boothwyn – Arence Paasewe of Chichester High School
Havertown – Wenye Huangpu of Haverford High School
Media – Jacki Turet of Penncrest High School
Rosemont – Lina Huang of Agnes Irwin School
Sharon Hill – Abriana Height of Academy Park High School
Villanova – Alexandra Ambrogi of Notre Dame Academy

Ambler – Shelleah Jackson of Wissahickon High School
Collegeville – Emily Brooks of Perkiomen Valley Senior High School
Fort Washington – Joshua Wan of Upper Dublin High School
Huntingdon Valley – Katey Steinberg of Lower Moreland Township High School
Jenkintown – Mollie Berkowitz of Jenkintown High School
King of Prussia – Daniel Legaspi of Upper Merion High School
Plymouth Meeting – Bonnie Gross of Plymouth-Whitemarsh High School
Pottstown – Katrina Garthe of Owen J. Roberts High School

Philadelphia – Shayla Torres of Community Academy of Philadelphia Charter School
Philadelphia – Leander Berry of Parkway West High School
Philadelphia – Elizabeth Silvestro of Math Science and Technology Community Charter School
Philadelphia – Vernon Jordan of Murrell Dobbins Career and Technical Education High School
Philadelphia – Wing Hung Cheung of Hallahan High School
Philadelphia – Lisa Cheung of Academy at Palumbo
Philadelphia – Cindy Zhang of Parkway Center City School
Philadelphia – Gech Kong of International Christian High School
Philadelphia – Rebecca Bannan of Little Flower High School
Philadelphia – Robert Ramos of Carver High School of Engineering and Science
Philadelphia – Angelina Smith of Franklin High School
Philadelphia – Damara McDowell of Freire Charter School
Philadelphia – Kitty Thai of Swenson Arts and Technology High School
Philadelphia – Qadriyyah Major of Kensington Business and Finance High School
Philadelphia – Ahteyona Hines of Multicultural Academy Charter School
Philadelphia – Allison Schreffler of Springside School
Philadelphia – Brianna Alexander of Motivation High School
Philadelphia – Marissa Hirsch of Franklin Towne Charter High School
Philadelphia – Lisa Liu of Saul High School
Philadelphia – Olivia Ngo of Central High School
Philadelphia – Iskar Smith of City Center Academy
Philadelphia – Priscilla Lugo of Mercy Vocational High School
Philadelphia – Marlon Lewis of High School for the Future
Philadelphia – Deblyn Lawrence of Masterman High School
Philadelphia – Levi Rivers of Germantown High School
Philadelphia – Shermeir Porter of Girard College
Philadelphia – Michelle Swiger of Commonwealth Connections Academy *


*Cyber school headquartered in Harrisburg


This press release was provided by Comcast.


Share This Article