21 Aug 2014
69° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by phatlatinchic

Quaker Valley Recognizes Teachers with Award for Excellence

A small reception was held Tuesday night to recognize the teachers' distinguished service.

Quaker Valley Recognizes Teachers with Award for Excellence Quaker Valley Recognizes Teachers with Award for Excellence

The Quaker Valley School Board recognized its entire Advanced Placement faculty Tuesday night with the 2012 Award for Excellence. 

Established in 2001, the Quaker Valley Award for Excellence is presented annually to a teacher or teachers to recognize distinguished service to students.

In May, 187 Quaker Valley students completed 349 AP exams – earning a 91 percent pass rate. AP tests are scored 1-5 and students must earn a 3 or higher to pass and qualify for college credit.  

At 91 percent, school officials say Quaker Valley far exceeds the average pass rate for Pennsylvania and internationally.

“A pass rate of 91 percent is simply phenomenal,” Superintendent Joseph Clapper said in a news release. “This achievement is a direct result of our teachers’ ongoing commitment and philosophy of meeting the needs of Quaker Valley students one child at a time.”

In August, it was announced that 62 Quaker Valley High School students earned the designation of AP Scholar – including four National AP Scholars.  The 62 AP Scholars represent 33 percent of all Quaker Valley students who participated in the AP exam program last school year. 

More than half – 55 percent – of the class of 2012 completed and passed at least one AP exam during their time at Quaker Valley, school officials said.

AP teachers were recognized by the school board at a reception prior to the Tuesday night's meeting. Each teacher received an engraved glass to commemorate the honor.

AP teachers include the following: Patty Colangelo, AP Chemistry; Linda Conlon, Academic Specialist and AP Coordinator; Gene Klein, AP European History; Mary Kuchek, AP U.S. History and AP World History; Dana Lynn, AP Spanish; Cory Neville, AP Music Theory; Michael Pastor, AP Psychology; Jeremy Pidhirny, AP Studio Art; Dave Robertson, AP Biology; Robin Russell, AP Studio Art; Jeff Sebastian, AP Calculus; Mark Williams, AP Physics; Erin Woods, AP English.

Previous Award for Excellence recipients include: Rose Ann Bergandy (2012); Mike Haboush (2011); David Noyes (2010); Adrienne Floro (2009); Betsey Wilson (2008); Stephen Moxie (2007); Dan Pellis (2006); Rita Hoepp (2005); Jeff Andrews (2004); Joan Leja (2003); Christine Burgh (2002); Gene Klein (2001).

Keeping up with news in the Sewickley Patch is easy—simply sign up for our daily  email newsletter, like us on  Facebook and follow us on  Twitter.

Share This Article