15 Sep 2014
46° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

CHS Holds National Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Top senior and junior students were honored for their achievements.

CHS Holds National Honor Society Induction Ceremony CHS Holds National Honor Society Induction Ceremony


honored its outstanding senior and junior students for academic excellence at the National Honor Society Induction Ceremony and Junior Awards Night held in the auditorium on Monday before an appreciative audience of students, family and community members, faculty and administrators.

A total of 63 senior members and nine senior members-elect in the National Honor Society were highlighted for their outstanding scholarship by achieving a 3.8 grade-point average and for their leadership, service and character.

Students were also recognized for eligibility in the Rhode Island Honor society.

Taking the stage were the following Senior Officers of the National Honor Society: President, Allison Myers; Vice President, Jennamarie Lopes; Secretary, Jamie Pratt and Treasurer, Mark Rini.

Other senior members of the National Honor Society are: Benjamin Adamo, Beth Aldrich, Sarah Aldrich, Michael Anzalone, Katie Auld, Erica Ball, Jessica Barbosa, Meagan Blanchette, Alexander Bolcon, Andrea Bora, Kaylla Bourbonniere, Taylor Burns, Brittany Chucka, Paige Cookson, Elisha Coolen, Victoria Cruz, Danielle DeNegris, Marissa Depietro, Katelyn Donavan, Emily Fisher, Stephanie Fitzgerald, Nicole Francis, Haley Gaffney, Sean Gallagher, Sean Grandy, Jennifer Green, Katelyn Guilmette, Sophie Harris, Kelsie Hollenbeck, Amanda Hoskins, Alexandra Johnson, Derek Kenyon, Shane Kirkland, Gabrielle Lefrancois, Amanda Lemos, Katelyn Martin, Alyssa Nahigian, Joseph Nardillo, Cote Nichols, Gianna Palermo, Meghan Paquet, Talai Pecchia, Sabrina Pereira, Michael Piacente, Rebekah Picard, Matthew Prince, Melissa Richards, Mackenzie Richter, Monica Robitaille, Alexis Ruest, Patrick Ryan, Joseph Sacchetti, Malaree Shields, Benjamin Skov, Megan Spender, Brandon Sullivan, Smantha Wagner, Johnna Wilson and Alexander Zannella.

Nine seniors members also elected to the NHS were Erin Abraham, Emily Bellows, Andy Chen, Ransel Cruz, Joseph Erickson, Sean Ledford, Nina Morelli, William Studley and Andrew Wolfe.

Among the 49 junior members-elect inducted into the National Honor Society were the Officers-Elect who sat on the stage as candles were lit to pass the torch to them: President, Jennifer Haley; Vice-President, Gianna Rocchio; Secretary, Sydney Dwyer and Treasurer, Cassandra Champagne.

Outgoing senior NHS President, Allison Myers, gave some advice to her peers who strive so hard to excel they sometimes emotionally break down. “The pressure to be perfect can carry over into every aspect of our lives,” she said, disclosing she once acted in a similar way. “Let go of that pressure. Sometimes expectations of yourself will drag you down. All of you are better and stronger than the pressure to be perfect.”

The following Book Awards for juniors were also presented for their academic achievements: Bryant University Book Award- Kristin Gallagher; College of the Holy Cross Book Award- Sydney Dwyer; Franklin Pierce University Book Award- Gianna Rocchio; St. Michael’s University Book Award(s)- Conner Briden and Ashley Ginda; University of Rhode Island Book Award- Matthew Haley and Salve Regina University Book Award- Mark Lasorsa.

The Math Department Award was presented to Jessica Bellows.

The English Department presented The Brown University Book Award to Jennifer Haley.

Winners of the following Science Department Awards were: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Gianna Rocchio; Bausch and Lomb, Jon Lomi; and The Society of Women Engineers, Kaitlyn Becker and Jon Lomi.

Michaela Johnson was presented with the Business Department DECA Award.

School Committee member Nancy Sprengelmeyer, a sponsor and presenter of the Salve Regina Book Award, and a proud Coventry HS and Salve Regina graduate, applauded the CHS administration for their efforts. “I am honored to be here because this high school is remarkable.”

CHS Principal Michael Hobin lauded the achievements of the entire senior class, not just the top academic achievers. “It’s been a terrific, terrific class,” he said. “They are just a great group of kids. They came together as a class. They did everything we asked of them. They were helpful and kind. It was one of the best senior classes I’ve seen here in my 19 years at the school.”



Share This Article