20 Aug 2014
61° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by griffin027

Prout's Caswell Named Female Athlete of Year

The top student athletes in all interscholastic sports were named during the Cox Rhode Island Sports Awards Wednesday,

Prout’s Emily Caswell and Bishop Hendricken’s Ryan Meacham were named scholar athletes of the year, and the Tiverton boys basketball team was named team of the year during the fifth annual Cox Rhode Island Sports Awards Wednesday night.

Sponsored by the Rhode Island National Guard, the annual award show honors the best and brightest athletes in Rhode Island. In addition to scholar athletes, team and coach of the year — Bishop Hendricken football coach Keith Croft — awards were presented to the top male and female athlete at each of their respective high school sports. East Greenwich High School students Michael Grant and Colby Grant were named Special Olympics athletes of the year.

The following students were named the top athlete in their respective sports:

  •  Boys football — Ben Willett, Portsmouth High School.
  • Girls Field Hockey — Lindsey Buckheit, East Greenwich High School.
  • Boys Soccer —Jeff Craven, Barrington High School.
  • Girls Soccer — McKenzie Meehan, LaSalle Academy.
  • Boys Cross Country —Ryan Meehan, Bishop Hendricken High School.
  • Girls Cross Country — Molly Keating, LaSalle Academy.
  • Girls Volleyball —Elise Walsh, The Prout School.
  • Girls Tennis —Rebecca Curran, Bay View Academy.
  • Boys Basketball — Bryan Yarce, Cranston High School West.
  • Girls Basketball —Kelly Mannix, Barrington High School.
  • Boys Hockey —Zachary Samborsky, Mount St. Charles High School.
  • Girls Hockey —Kayla Kiernan, North Smithfield High School.
  • Girls Cheerleading —Leah Corredora, LaSalle Academy.
  • Boys Wrestling —Mike Meyers, Warwick Veterans Memorial High School.
  • Girls Gymnastics — Alysse Pazienza, North Kingstown High School.
  • Boys Swimming —Luca Spinazzola, Narragansett High School.
  • Girls Swimming — Bethany Douglas, Bay View Academy.
  • Boys Indoor Track — Innocent Jacob, Chariho High School.
  • Girls Indoor Track — Aisha McAdams, Noth Kingstown High School.
  • Boys Baseball — Harrison Barlow, South Kingstown High School.
  • Girls Softball — Emily Caswell, Prout.
  • Boys Lacrosse — Cody O’Donnell, LaSalle Academy.
  • Girls Lacrosse —Hannah Saris, Moses Brown
  • Boys Outdoor Track —Jalen Young, LaSalle.
  • Girls Outdoor Track — Royal Cheatham, Hope High School.
  • Golf — Jamison Randall, Cumberland High School.
  • Boys Tennis — Matt Kuhar, Smithfield High School.
  • Boys Volleyball — Ted Seufert, Bishop Hendricken High School.

Other award recipients included Collegiate Athlete of the Year Colin Briggs, of Narragansett, who led the University of Virginia to the NCAA Division I Lacrosse Championship by scoring five goals in the championship game. Briggs was a three time All-American at Bishop Hendricken.

Steve McDonald, a local radio personality who is the voice of University of Rhode Island basketball, received the first Ben Mondor Award. The award was established this year in honor of Pawtucket Red Sox owner Ben Mondor, who died last fall at 85. The Ben Mondor Award is presented to “an individual who has made extraordinary contributions in a positive way in the realm of sports in Rhode Island.”

Female athlete of the year Caswell, a standout in softball, basketball and volleyball at Prout, recently graduated and plans to play basketball for Caldwell College in New Jersey.

“The is something I owe to everyone who ever helped me — my teammates and coaches,” Caswell said. “This is really an honor. I’m really humbled by this.”

Voting for the awards was conducted by the general public, a board of governors, and Eident Sports, a sports event marketing firm.

Photo Gallery

Share This Article