Jul 29, 2014
Partly Cloudy

Town Council, School Committee Candidates Declare Run for Office

The deadline to file a Declaration of Candidacy is today at 4 p.m. at Town Hall.

Town Council, School Committee Candidates Declare Run for Office

Interested in running for state or local office? You'll have until 4 p.m. today to file your Declaration of Candidacy. 

Rhode Islanders who are thinking about running for office have until this afternoon to file a declaration in order to be eligible to appear on this year's ballot.

Voters who plan to run for state or local office must file with the board of canvassers in the city or town where they are registered to vote. The Board of Canvassers is located at Town Hall in Portsmouth. 

Candidates must then collect the signatures of enough eligible voters to officially put them on the ballot. 

As of Tuesday, the following candidates have declared their intentions to run for office:

Senate Dist. 11-Bristol and Portsmouth (two-year term)

Christopher Scott Ottiano (Republican, incumbent) 

House Dist. 71-Portsmouth, Tiverton and Little Compton (two-year term)

Dan Gordon (Libertarian, incumbent) 
Dennis Canario (Democrat) 

School Committee (four-year term) (three seats available)

Marilyn King (Democrat, incumbent)
Angela Volpicelli (Democrat, incumbent)
Terri-Denise Cortvriend (Democrat)
Emily Copeland (Democrat)
Andrew Kelly (Democrat)

School Committee (two-year, unfulfilled term) 

John Wojichowski (Democrat)

Town Council (two-year term) (seven seats available) 

James Seveney (Democrat, incumbent)
Len Katzman (Democrat)
Michael Buddemeyer (Democrat, incumbent)
Robert Church (Democrat)
John Blaess (Democrat)
Frederick Faerber III (Democrat)
Mary Donohue Magee (Democrat)
Judi Staven (Republican, incumbent)
David Gleason (Independent)
Allen Shers (Independent)

Town Clerk

Kathleen Viera Beaudoin (Republican, incumbent)

Don’t miss updates from Patch!