Aug 01, 2014

Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue Announces New Officers & Award Winners

Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue Announces New Officers & Award Winners

At its annual banquet and awards ceremony on Jan. 25, 2014, Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue kicked off the new year with installation of officers and presenting a number of awards to honor several members for their outstanding performance in 2013. The featured speaker was David Hirsch, Senior Pastor of New Life Outreach Church in Fredericksburg, who thanked the organization for its role in saving the life of his daughter when she was involved in a serious car accident.

The organization’s most prestigious award, CVFR Member of the Year, is presented to the member who embodies the best of Chancellor in the areas of leadership, dedication, service and excellence.  This year’s winner, who was selected in a secret ballot vote by the membership, is Assistant Chief Robert “Bob” Weber. 

Other top award winners included:

  • Rookie Firefighter of the Year – Tyler Johnson
  • Firefighter of the Year – Will Cook
  • Oscar Award – Dustin Wright
  • EMS Rookie of the Year – Krystal Cole
  • EMS Provider of the Year – John Rayman
  • EMS Driver of the Year – Matt Goldsborough
  • Honor Guard Member of the Year – Brandon Murray with 165 hours
  • Administrative Member of the Year – Hollie Williams
  • President’s Award – A.P. Bullock
  • Chief’s Award – Tom Couch
  • Top EMS Hours Runner – Nicholas Gilbert with 1,039 hours
  • Top Fire Hours Runner – Brandon Murray with 2,345 Hours
  • Special Award of Recognition – Greg Leitz 

The newly-installed Administrative Officers for 2014 are:

  • Beth Addington - President
  • Robert Padgett, Sr. - Vice President
  • Mary Padgett - Secretary
  • Hollie Williams - Treasurer
  • Joseph Habib - Board of Directors and Member at Large
  • Connie Grennen - Board of Directors and Member at Large
  • Kevin Dillard - Administrative Chief

The newly installed Operational Officers for 2014 are:

  • John Richter - Fire Chief
  • Frederick Broccolo - Deputy Fire Chief
  • Robert Weber - Assistant Fire Chief
  • Tony Dennis - Assistant Fire Chief
  • Charles Schultz - Rescue Chief
  • Mike Passera - Fire Captain
  • Geoffrey Knight - Fire Lieutenant
  • Ryan Passera - Fire Lieutenant
  • Sarah Rees - EMS Captain
  • Meredith Howdyshell - EMS Lieutenant
  • Janice Tate - EMS Lieutenant
  • Janna Roland - EMS Lieutenant 
“We congratulate Assistant Chief Weber and all of the award winners who were recognized for their dedicated service and achievements over the past 12 months,” said Kevin Dillard, Administrative Chief of Chancellor Volunteer Fire & Rescue. “Thanks to their exemplary efforts, CVFR had a great year in 2013, and we anticipate that 2014 will be even better.”    

Don’t miss updates from Patch!