20 Aug 2014
78° Light Rain
Patch Instagram photo by greghambrick
Patch Instagram photo by patch

Four Abortion Bills Tabled by Subcommittee

Three of the bills sought to eliminate the state's mandatory transabdominal ultrasound requirement.

Four Abortion Bills Tabled by Subcommittee

Four abortion related bills introduced in the Virginia House were tabled Jan. 18 by voice vote. 

Del. Robert G. Marshall (R-13) introduced HB 1316, which would have made it a Class 4 felony for a person to "perform an abortion with knowledge that the abortion was sought solely and exclusively on account of the sex of the unborn child."

Del. Kaye Kory (D-38) introduced HB 1560, which would have removed "the requirement that a woman undergo a transabdominal ultrasound prior to an abortion."

Del. Eileen Filler-Corn (D-41) introduced HB 1775, which would have eliminated the requirement of a mandatory transabdominal ultrasound prior to the performance of an abortion, but provided for an ultrasound to be offered.

Filler-Corn also introduced HB 1776.  It would have provided "that no physician shall be subject to a civil penalty for failure to perform or supervise the performance of the ultrasound imaging required prior to an abortion if, in his medical judgment, such ultrasound imaging is not medically necessary. Currently, any physician who violates any provision of the abortion informed consent statute is subject to a $2,500 civil penalty."

Virginia was at the center of the abortion debate during the 2012 General Assembly session, when the Commonwealth joined seven other states in requiring an ultrasound prior to receiving an abortion.

The other states are Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas, according to the Guttmacher Institute.

NPR's Terry Gross interviewed Carolyn Jones on her Jan. 22 edition of Fresh Air. Jones had written about her experience with the sonogram law after having an abortion in 2012.

The House Courts of Justice Sub-Committee: #7 Constitutional Law which tabled the four 2013 bills consists of delegates:

  • David Albo, Chairman (R-42)
  • Terry Kilgore (R-1)
  • G. Manoli Loupassi (R-68)
  • Ronald Villanueva (R-21)
  • Gregory Habeeb (R-8)
  • Rick Morris (R-64)
  • Vivian Watts (D-39)
  • Jennifer McClellan (D-71)
  • David Toscano (D-57)

Related Stories:

Mandatory Ultrasound Before Abortions Now Law (March 8, 2012)

Lawmakers Revise Ultrasound Bill (Feb. 25, 2012)

McDonnell Shifts on Ultrasound Bill (Feb. 22, 2012)

Register for the free daily newsletter from Fredericksburg Patch.

Share This Article