19 Aug 2014
72° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by greghambrick
Patch Instagram photo by patch

VDOT Warns of Dangerous Road Conditions

Fredericksburg District crews will monitor roads throughout the night.

VDOT Warns of Dangerous Road Conditions

VDOT reports its crews in the 14-county Fredericksburg District will continue to monitor roads for high water, flooding and downed trees and power lines throughout the night.

Portions of Route 17 at Tappahannock, Harrell Road and Brooke Road in Stafford County are among the roads posted for high water. Numerous roads in the Middle Peninsula and Northern Neck region are closed due to high water.  Click here for a complete list of road closings and high water advisories in the 14-county district. 

Motorists are urged to use caution when traveling in these areas and other low-lying areas that are prone to flooding. Crews will also continue to monitor wind speeds at the:

  • Norris Bridge, located on Route 3 between Middlesex and Lancaster;
  • Down Bridge, located on Route 360 between Essex and Richmond County;
  • West Point Bridges in the Town of West Point.

If the wind speeds reach 50 mph sustained, the structures will be closed to traffic.

VDOT reminds motorists to:

  • Delay travel at the height of the storm;
  • If travel cannot be avoided, reduce your speed
  • Avoid traveling on roads that have been posted for high water or are closed.
  • Remember that wet leaves can cause slick conditions on roads.
  • Be alert to traffic signal outages. Treat intersections as a four-way stop if the traffic signal is out or flashing.
  • Visit VDOT's website  for more inclement weather driving tips and storm preparation
  • Call 511 or visit www.511virginia.org  for up to the minute road conditions and closings.
  • Download the free mobile app at the 511 web site.
  • Call VDOT’s 24-hour Customer Service Center at 1-800-FOR-ROAD (800-367-7623) to report downed trees and power lines, hazardous road conditions.
  • Visit VDOT’s Facebook page for updates during the storm.

VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford (Fredericksburg area); Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties (Northern Neck area); Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties (Middle Peninsula).

VDOT provided this information in a press release.

Share This Article