Jul 29, 2014
Partly Cloudy

Aldermen Elect New Council President

Joe Pieper, who chairs the Finance Committee, takes on new role on Waukesha Common Council.

Aldermen Elect New Council President

The Waukesha Common Council has a new president.

Alderman Joe Pieper, who is chair of the Finance Committee, will take on the role after the Common Council voted him in as president. Pieper replaces Alderman Paul Ybarra, who was council president the last two years.

Ybarra, who was nominated again for the council president role, declined the nomination before the vote was taken.

Also nominated were aldermen Eric Payne and Terry Thieme. Thieme declined his nomination but Payne accepted his nomination.

Meanwhile, Alderman Rick Hastings was sworn into office as he completes the end of a term vacated by former Alderman Charles Lichtie. Hastings was appointed to office more than a year ago and won re-election over challenger Ron Kading on April 3.

  • Read

Additionally, Waukesha Mayor Jeff Scrima’s State of the City message was on the agenda,

Don’t miss updates from Patch!