22 Aug 2014
70° Humid and Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012

From Scott Walker emerging as the only governor to survive a recall and Paul Ryan being selected as Mitt Romney's running mate for president, a national spotlight shined bright on Wisconsin this year.

The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012 The Year in Wisconsin Politics 2012

Divisive — from recalls to recounts, it became a buzzword for Wisconsin politics in 2012.

A national spotlight shined bright on Wisconsin this year, as it was a historic one for politics. 

Scott Walker became the first governor in U.S. history to survive a recall. U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan of Janesville became a national household name after being selected as Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney's running mate and state voters elected Tammy Baldwin to fill Herb Kohl's seat, making in her the first openly gay woman in the U.S. Senate.

The Walker recall

On the heels of a slew of recall elections and large-scale protests on the steps of the state Capitol building, the year kicked off with more recall attempts, including one aimed at Gov. Scott Walker.

Largely sparked by the governor's Act 10, which curtailed collective bargaining for most public employees, Democrats turned in nearly 1 million signatures against Walker — and a total of 1.9 million signatures, including another 845,000 filed against four Republican lawmakers and Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch — to the Government Accountability Board in January, after two months of circulating petitions. 

Election officials said they would spend the next 60 days verifying those signatures. 

In the meantime, Republicans, who characterized themselves as the silent majority over the past year, rallied in Wauwatosa for the first event of its kind in support of Walker.

Then in late March, the GAB verified 900,938 valid signatures, more than enough to spark a recall. The state set the primary date for May 8 and the general election for June 5. 

Democrats Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett, former Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk, Kathleen Vinehout and Doug LaFollette squared off in May for a chance to challenge Walker; and Mahlon Mitchell, president of the Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin, and private investigator Ira Robbins to emerged to challenge Kleefisch. Independent gubernatorial candidate Hariprasad "Hari" Trivedi also was on the ballot. 

Voters wouldn't be required to show identification, after a Dane County circuit judge issued a permanent injunction blocking the implementation of the law. It was the second time the recently enacted law had been shot down. Later in 2012, the law would be shot down for a third time. 

National eyes on Wisconsin

As the Democratic field emerged to challenge Walker, Republicans on a national level jockeyed for the right to take on President Barack Obama, and they saw Wisconsin as a place to plead their case. 

Republican candidate Rick Santorum visited Wisconsin in March. Wisconsin's caucus, along with others held in early April, would arguably be Santorum's last chance to stay in the race for the GOP nomination for president, but Romney . 

In May, Barrett easily defeated Falk to spark a gubernatorial rematch — Barrett versus Walker. Nothing changed from the previous year, however, and Walker cruised to an easy victory to retain the governor's office. 

With the gubernatorial recall in the rear-view, the focus in the state shifted to the emerging two-man race between former Gov. Tommy Thompson and businessman Eric Hovde for the approaching GOP primary for the open U.S. Senate seat vacated by the retiring Kohl. The primary winner would take on U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin, the lone Democrat in the running for the seat. Thompson emerged as the winner in the GOP primary. 

Meanwhile, Ryan added more intrigue to the political scene when he was selected to run as vice president on the Republican ticket for president. 

Wisconsin's U.S. Senate race and the presidential race were in question right up to Nov. 5. Obama and Romney visited the swing state of Wisconsin several times in the weeks approaching Election Day, and the contest between Baldwin and Thompson was bitterly contested, with more than $78 million spent, mostly on attack ads for television. Obama and Baldwin emerged as winners, with the president taking Wisconsin with about 52 percent of the vote, despite Ryan's presence. 

Whitefish Bay

Redistricting placed Whitefish Bay in a more conservative State Assembly district and a more liberal US Congressional district this past year.

On the state level, Whitefish Bay's Democratic Rep. Sandy Pasch, saw her district move from a politically-mixed district to a heavily Republican district that stretches into Washington, Waukesha and Ozaukee counties. She decided to run in the new 10th Assembly District, representing Shorewood and portions of Milwaukee. Pasch easily won the four-way Democratic primary election.

With Whitefish Bay now falling into the 23rd Assembly District, State Rep. Jim Ott won the seat over Whitefish Bay resident and political newcomer Cris Rogers. Ott is a six-year Republican incumbent from Mequon who previously worked as a meteorologist.

Republican State Sen. Alberta Darling continues to represent Whitefish Bay and other communities in the 8th Senate District, despite a write-in campaign from Whitefish Bay professor Beth Lueck.

On the federal level, Whitefish Bay is no longer represented by Republican U.S. Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner and is now represented by incumbent Democrat Gwen Moore. Moore defeated Republican challenger Dan Sebring to earn her fifth term in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Share This Article