
A tour of the circa 1828 Barney Street Cemetery will be offered by the Museum of Newport Irish History
on Saturday, September 26 at 1:00 p.m.
The
tour of the final resting
place of many
of Newport's early Irish immigrants and the site of Rhode Island's first
Catholic church is approximately 30 minutes long. Popular local
researcher and guide Steve Marino will lead the tour. Learn the
fascinating story of this site, which is central to the history of Newport's
early Irish community.
The Museum of Newport Irish History restored the cemetery in
1998-99 and continues to maintain it today, thanks to dedicated
volunteers and the generosity of its membership.
The tour is given, weather permitting. Light rain won’t stop the tour, but torrential downfalls or high winds will result in cancellation. No fee.
RESERVATIONS REQUESTED
Visit this webpage for links to reserve, directions, and additional info:
https://newportirishhistory.or...
Can't attend in person?
Visit this webpage for resources on the history of this site, including links to videos (under photo on top-left side of page):
https://newportirishhistory.or...
(Photo of the Oct. 6, 2024 cemetery tour. Credit: Colleen McGrath)
ABOUT THE MUSEUM
The Museum of Newport Irish History,
a volunteer-driven, non-profit 501 (c)(3) organization, was founded in 1996
and now boasts over 900 members. In addition to operating an Interpretive Center
on Lower Thames Street, the organization sponsors numerous educational,
cultural, social, and fundraising events throughout the year, including
its popular annual lecture series, now in its 25th season. The
organization also restored and maintains the historic Barney Street Cemetery
at the corner of Barney and Mt. Vernon Streets, steps from Washington
Square. It is the final resting place of many of Newport’s earliest
Irish residents and was the cemetery established to support Rhode
Island’s first Roman Catholic parish, the forerunner of the current
Saint Mary’s Church at the corner of Spring Street and Memorial
Boulevard.
To learn more or to join the Museum, please visit www.NewportIrishHistory.org or write us at newportirishhistory@gmail.com